Casanova Brothers Pizza and Pasta

After two days of trekking across the vast Sonoran Desert, fending off foul merchants and the like peddling their junky wares, to say I had built up a hunger was an under statement. My stout companion Thork the Fork and I were eager to try out a local Gilbert, AZ pizza parlor that DR “The Tree King” had been telling me about-Casanova Brothers Pizza and Pasta.

We entered the joint and were immediately greeted by Tony Casanova. Him and his brother opened Casanova Brothers about three years ago. I wish I’d found out about it like 1,094 days ago.

Tony is very friendly and greeted all the customers that day by name. I like that. A real nice personal touch. After exchanging names and hand shakes, we got down to business. We ordered our food and Thork the Fork and I collapsed into our chairs at a nice table up front.

Tony could tell that we were famished and quickly brought us out a basket of Garlic Knots. He said that they were complimentary for us as first time patrons. They were delicious little nuggets of bready, garlicky, buttery goodness. Don’t believe me, have a look for yourself.

Casanova Brother's Garlic Knots

We also ordered some buffalo wings and they came out next. Tony had asked us how we like our wings and we said crispy. They came out crispy alright. Take a gander.

Casanova Brother's Wings

If you like good wings, these are among the best I have had in the Valley of the Sun, or anywhere else for that matter.

Now it was time for the main course-pizza. On the recommend of DR, we ordered a New Yorker. New York style thin crust pizza with four meats (pepperoni, sausage, meatball, and ham).

Casanova Brother's New Yorker Pizza

It was delicious. My weariness was fading and my belly expanding…

While we were enjoying some after dinner small talk and before we could get out the door, Tony swooped in with another complimentary sumthin sumthin. I had never heard of these before, but I’ll be asking for them in the future. They are called Zeppolis and they are a donut like ball of fried bread dough generously coated with powdered sugar. Very tasty!

Casanova Brother's Zeppolis

I can’t wait for my next trip to Casanova Brothers Pizza and Pasta. Make sure you don’t wait too long for your first or next trip there either. When you get there, tell Tony that phosyzzle sent you…

Casanova Bros. Pizza & Pasta & Pasta on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment